Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee

Committee Members: L. Dizney, A. Edelman, A. Ford, V. Hayssen, A. Hope, K. Lucia-Simmons, M. Pardi, J. Reichard, T. Roberts, R. Rowe, J. Schieltz, P. Stapp (Chair), K. Thorington, Janna Willoughby.

Mission:

The Committee's mission is to select graduate and undergraduate students to be honored for their research in mammalogy, and to select travel grant recipients in two categories, early-career and student.

Information Items:

(1) The Committee welcomed new members Melissa Pardi and Janna Willoughby this year.

(2) From 18 applications, the Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee awarded four graduate honoraria, each for \$2,000: the Anna M. Jackson Award to Laurel Yohe (Stony Brook University); the Elmer C. Birney Award to Jeremy Crawford (University of California Berkeley); the A. Brazier Howell Award to Kathryn Everson (University of Alaska Museum), and the Annie M. Alexander Award to Adriana Casillas (Antioch University of New England).

(3) From three applications the Committee awarded two undergraduate honoraria of \$1,000 each. Awardees were **Risa Takenaka** (University of California Berkeley) and **Christopher Burke** (University of New Hampshire). The Committee also awarded a special Travel Award (\$600) to undergraduate honorarium applicant **Megan Dudenhoeffer** (University of Wyoming) based on the high quality of her application.

The table below summarizes the recent history of honoraria applications, revealing the increase in the number of graduate applicants, especially master's students, but also the high inter-annual variability in the number of applications:

Year	Undergraduate	Masters	PhD	Total Graduate
2007	6	0	12	12
2008	2	0	5	5
2009	6	0	3	3
2010 ^a	2	0	5	5
2011	9	2	12	14
2012	1	1	9	10
2013 ^b	3	1	3	4
2014	3	0	4	4
2015	4	4	8	12
2016	3	6	12	18
	of shorter GRAD appl			
^b first year	of Alexander (MS) Aw			

(4) We were very pleased with the number and quality of applications in 2016, and will continue our efforts to advertise and promote the Honoraria Program widely using multiple communication platforms, including social media. With the help of the Sean Maher, the Informatics Committee Chair, we have continued to improve the Committee's webpage, and will continue to update it to provide clear instructions to applicants and to streamline the online submission process. We also extend special thanks to Cody Thompson, Program Committee Chair, for significant help with coordination of honorarium and travel awards application submissions.

(5) A total of 53 meeting attendees chose to have their abstracts evaluated for Travel Awards. This number represents a significant decrease from previous years (2013-140, 2014-94, 2015-121), which might reflect changes to the registration and abstract submission procedures for the Annual Meeting. Three applicants who were receiving honoraria this year were removed from the competition.

The remaining 50 abstracts were divided into two categories for evaluation: early-career (7 vs. 20 in 2015, 11 in 2014 and 29 in 2013) and student (43 abstracts vs. 84 in 2015, 80 in 2014 and 109 in 2013). Of these applicants, 10 were from students supported by past Grants-in-Aid, two were past Fellowship winners, and one had received an Honorarium. Each abstract was reviewed by six Committee Members.

The Board allocated \$4,800 for early-career travel awards of \$600 each and \$10,000 for student travel awards of \$400 each. The complete list of recipients (seven early-career, 25 student) is given on the following page. A total of eight recipients (32% of awardees) had previously received a grant or award from ASM, indicating that we had some success in attracting previously supported students to participate in the Annual Meeting. The final funding rate for early-career and student travel awards was 100% (7/7) and 58% (25/43), respectively.

(6) The Committee is requesting essentially continuance of the monetary value of the Honoraria and Travel Awards in keeping with the prestige of the honoraria and the high cost of attending the Annual Meeting.

Action Items:

(1)	\$ 8,000	4 * \$2000 for graduate honoraria (Jackson, Howell, Birney, Alexander)
	\$ 2,000	2 * \$1000 for undergraduate honoraria
	\$ 4,800	8 * \$600 for early-career travel awards
	<u>\$10,000</u>	25 * \$400 for student travel awards
	\$ 4,800	8 * \$600 for early-career travel awards

\$24,800 Total budget

Justification: All funds requested are for the awards.

First	Last	Institution/Organization	
Early-Career			
Emily	Goldstein	University of Arizona	
Jason	Malaney	Austin Peay State University	
Mariana	Nery	Universidade Estadual de Campinas	
Ishani	Sinha	Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India	
Amrita	Srivathsan	National University of Singapore	
Danielle	Tufts	Columbia University	
Nathan	Upham	Yale University	
Students			
Kayce	Bell	University of New Mexico	
Jacob	Berl	Purdue University	
Jonathan	Brooks	Clemson University	
Angela	Burke	Northern Illinois University	
Meghan	Camp	Washington State University	
Jocelyn	Colella	University of New Mexico	
Angela	Darnell Baker	University of Louisiana at Lafayette	
Emma	Elliott Smith	University of New Mexico	
Sarah	Gallagher	Northern Michigan University	
Jennifer	Gansberg	University of Nevada, Reno	
Genevieve	Haas	Northern Michigan University	
Angela	Hornsby	University of Nevada, Reno	
Donavan	Jackson	The University of New Mexico	
Andrew	Marx	University of Florida	
Melissa	Merrick	University of Arizona	
Charlotte	Milling	University of Idaho	
Melissa	Pardi	The University of New Mexico	
Nelish	Pradhan	University of Vermont	
Cristina	Rios-Blanco	Texas Tech University	
William	Severud	University of Minnesota	
Tara	Smiley	University of Michigan	
Lindsey	Smith	Austin Peay State Univsersity	
Brian	Tanis	Oregon State University	
Hannah	Walker	California State University Long Beach	
Ashley	Wurth	The Ohio State University	

Respectfully submitted, Paul Stapp, Chair (<u>pstapp@fullerton.edu</u>)